May 26, 2009

QuickConnectiPhone 1.5 Beta 8 is now available!

Posted in iPhone development, mac development tagged , , , , , at 7:38 pm by tetontech

I have merged the installers for QCiPhone, QCMac, and QCPHP.  They are now part of the QCiPhone download from sourceForge.

You can now make a Bonjour service on your Mac and connect to it from your iPhone or iPod touch or switch it around and publish the service on your iPhone or iPod touch and connect to it from your Mac.

The download is larger due to the videos included in the Mac Device Catalog example.  I’ll try to pare this down for the final release.

The Mac port has begun to catchup with the iPhone version.

After 1.5 ships I’ll start shipping more of the OS 3.0 functionallity as 1.5.x betas.

The changes for this beta include:

iPhone 1.5 beta 8:

  1. Fixed stateSaving Example
  2. Simplified and fixed the asynchronous call handling code so that multiple asynchronous calls can be made in any order and intermingled with synchronous calls.
  3. Created an example of using native footers.
  4. Added an image display to show the default.png file if one exists to ‘hide’ the web view as it loads the JavaScript, CSS, and HTML files.
  5. Added a function to allow you to programatically turn copy-paste on and off.
  6. I still need to create an example of and the code for native headers and navigation bars.

Mac 1.0 beta 2:

  1. Simplified and fixed the asynchronous call handling code so that multiple asynchronous calls can be made in any order and intermingled with synchronous calls.
  2. Added recording and playing of audio.
  3. Added recording and playing of video.
  4. Added Shipped audio and video playing.
  5. Added Looping of audio and video.
  6. Added Bonjour networking (Client and Server)
  7. Added Error Logging and debug messages
  8. Fixed database interaction for both native and in browser databases

5 Comments »

  1. sam said,

    Not sure if this is just me, but when I compile I get,
    error: QCBarButtonItem.h: No such file or directory

    along with 3 other errors relating to this. I also couldn’t find this file when I looked for it manually

  2. sam said,

    That is, I’m starting off on a blank QC template just seeing if it will run

  3. sam said,

    I’m not sure what I did, but it seems to be working fine now.
    Is there anything different in this beta that would prohibit a mailto: link from working?

    • tetontech said,

      There was an error in the production of the template that left out the support for the Native Footer ability but left some of the files that depended on it.

      I reposted the download late last night to solve the problem.

      There shouldn’t be anything that should make mailto: links stop working. That portion of the code hasn’t changed. I just looked at it and couldn’t see anything obvious that would cause that type of problem. I assume you are seeing this since you asked. Is that the case?

  4. Sam said,

    Thanks for the response.
    I seem to have a problem with my mailto links, however, this isn’t a problem with beta 8 (seen in beta 7 as well). Is there any way for me to check which beta I’ve used for a specific project? It might have been working correctly before beta 7, I just don’t know how to check to see if I’ve used a previous beta.

    I am, however, having a problem in beta 8 that is not seen in beta 7. My images (background images, submit button images, etc.) seem to disappear randomly. Often, the images will reappear once I’ve pressed on a surrounding element, such as a textarea. If you want me to clarify some more let me know.

    I appreciate all your help.

    -Sam


Leave a Reply

