March 14, 2009

QuickConnectiPhone 1.5 Beta 4

Posted in iPhone development tagged , , , , , , , , , , at 8:18 pm by tetontech

Beta 4 has been uploaded and is now available.  It includes the ability to play multiple audio files at once, an example app PlayAudioFileExample another to show how to do AJAX/JSON calls using the ServerAccessObject, JSONDataExample, and fixes to the Xcode and Dashcode templates.

You can now add background continuously looping background audio and play other audio files at the same time.

4 Comments »

  1. Sam said,

    Hi again. I had some questions for you:
    1. I’m having trouble with the custom URL feature. I’d like to open the app and fill in information in a textbox, something like this: yourCustomURL://datahere. Is that possible?
    2. I’m not sure if this feature is already available, but I’d like to save the entire state of the app once it has been closed. For example, when playing a game, if the game is closed and then reopened, I have the option to start where I left off. I’m aware of the state saving feature included in quickconnect that allows you to save data from a textbox, which brings me to my next question.
    3. The current state saving feature works perfectly (saving data from a text box), however, how can I get this to work with multiple text boxes?

    Thank you very much for your time and commitment.
    -Sam

    • tetontech said,

      1. To test out the custom URL feature make a URL of the custom format and click it. I haven’t tested this yet but from what I see in the code it should work. I’ll have to think about how to do the textbox thing.

      2. The best way to save state is to do it directly into an SQLite database. I use the setData and getData or setNativeData and getNativeData methods to do this. The mapOnLaunch example uses a native database to store state. In it’s case state is the stored location of map pins to drop.

      3. You should be able to save as much data as you want. When I am doing this I save state as it changes, not all at once at the end.

      Lee

  2. Conrad said,

    Hello-

    Great work on the software, its really quite remarkable how its all coming together. Ive been testing it creating some test apps, and its works well. I see some of the design limitations of Dashcode, but I suppose thats not too much of a trade off.

    One question – In an ideal world an App Id like to work on would create PDF files from SQLite & user data, and email them off via the internal mail app to others. However, I dont see email capabilities on your roadmap, let alone PDF stuff. Is there any chance of getting that into your framework?

    Thanks again.

    • tetontech said,

      Conrad,

      The internal mail app doesn’t allow attachments. There is a library that I could use to allow attachments. This would mean creating some sort of UI for sending the attachment and the message that goes with it. Apple is going to discuss OS 3.0 today. Maybe they will open up the mail API and make this a lot easier for us. If not, I’ll look at seeing how I could add this to the QuickConnectiPhone API.


Leave a Reply

